Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

Breaking Free June 12, 2010

Filed under: Creativity Boot Camp — May-May Golly @ 12:16 am
Tags: , ,

“Art is the only way to run away without leaving home.” ~Twyla Tharp

++++++++++++++++++++
Today’s assignment sort of stumped me a bit. It was mentioned that sometimes with art and creativity we can become comfortable and dependent upon certain techniques or styles or methods. We can actually begin to limit ourselves eventually. So today we were admonished to switch it up a bit. Do something we wouldn’t normally. Break our own rules. This was difficult for me and I’m not even really sure I was able to accomplish it. I did try though.
Today Word Prompt: Fluid
So my thought process around this photo was to capture the fluidness of the curtain and at the same time take a picture I wouldn’t normally be attracted to taking: dark with muted colors. Normally I am drawn to vibrant colors. I’m still not sure about this one. What are your thoughts?
+++++++++++++++++
The idea behind this one was to take the picture direct on, not off to an angle like I usually do.
An angle, like this one, for instance…….
+++++++++++++++++++++
This one I saw out of the corner of my eye in the middle of work and had to run to the back to grab the camera! Much to the amusement of my co-workers. 🙂
++++++++++++++++++++

 

4 Responses to “Breaking Free”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    very, very nice. I like both pictures of the bottles, but the first one has so much color and diversity! Good job!
    And I love the wine-glasses pictures. So glad you saw it and got it!

  2. cindy Says:

    I was thinking you and Dan had really stocked up your liquor cabinet when I saw that first bottle pic! LOL!!! Like the wine glasses too.

    I’m wondering if the curtain might have looked a bit more fluid if if was moving…or somehow had motion captured….instead of hanging straight. But what do I know….I suck at this kind of thing! 🙂
    Good job on another hard theme word.

  3. Tink Says:

    Well done and great subject matter….lol

  4. daniela Says:

    oh faith, look at how fabulously you are doing – stopping everything at work to grab your camera for a shot. this tickles me BIG, and i’m loving your shots!


Leave a Reply

