Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

The Wishing Year June 10, 2010

Filed under: Creativity Boot Camp — May-May Golly @ 12:24 am
Tags: ,

Just wanted to share an excerpt I found vastly amusing from a book I am currently reading, The Wishing Year. It caused me to laugh out loud as I peddled away on the excersise bike today at the gym.

“A married couple in their early sixties was out celebrating their thirty-fifth wedding anniversary in a quiet, romantic little restaurant. Suddenly, a tiny yet beautiful fairy appeared on their table and said, “For being such an exemplary married couple and for being faithful to each other for all this time, I will grant you each a wish.” “Oh, I want to travel around the world with my darling husband!” said the wife. The fairy waved her magic wand and – poof! – two tickets for the Queen Mary II luxury liner appeared in her hands. Then it was the husband’s turn. He thought for a moment and said, “Well, this is all very romantic, but an opportunity like this will never come again. I’m sorry, my love, but my wish is to have a wife thirty years younger than me.” The wife and the fairy were deeply disappointed, but a wish is a wish….. So the fairy waved her magic wand and – poof! – the husband became ninety-two years old. The moral of the story: “Men who are ungrateful bastards should remember that fairies are females.”

HA!

In other news, Creative Boot Camp is going well. Although I do have to admit, this taking photos with a theme EVERY SINGLE DAY is rather challenging. But then, as I happened to mention to dear Dani yesterday,  I guess they don’t call this “Boot Camp” for nothing.

Day Four: Heavy Metal

(In case you are wondering what this is exactly, it would happen to be my husbands favorite new toy, the Kettle Bell. Seriously, if you talk to him, it’s bound to come up into conversation.)

+++++++++++++++++++

 

4 Responses to “The Wishing Year”

  1. cindy Says:

    Oh how nice….. a pic of Dan’s new mistress! 😉

    Like the two interpretations of heavy metal. Good job.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    I really like that you did this theme in black and white. Perfect.

  3. daniela Says:

    35 pounds? whoa. i’m thinking this boot camp is much more fun than his kettle ball camp. love your choice of black and white for this faithy. hey, i think we should call noelle and ask if we can hang with her for a day. wouldn’t THAT be cool? love love you sweetness!


Leave a Reply

