Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

Music to My Ears November 21, 2009

Filed under: Old Style Living — May-May Golly @ 11:22 am
Tags: , ,

“Music takes us out of the actual and whispers to us dim secrets that startle our wonder as to who we are, and for what, whence, and whereto.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

This evening I put on my fancy pants and my best coat, grabbed my umbrella, and headed out into the blustery rain to the Bremerton Symphony for a “Night at the Opera”. I love going to the symphony for two main reasons. One, the cultural and inspiring bliss of it all. There was more than one occasion that I got chills this evening from what my ears were taking in. I am always humbled by the talent of these musicians.

And two, for the people watching. You have all these amazingly talented people up there on the stage, from all age groups and all walks of life, creating the most incredible sounds together. I find myself wondering about them as individuals, their lives, what brought them to music, whether or not they love it, etc, etc.

And then you have the interesting people that are the spectators. This evening we had quite an interesting family sitting in front of us. They were all rather oddly dressed, the father wearing small oval glasses and the mother with her tight little bun on the tippy top of her head. The young daughter who was probably in her late teens early twenties brought a book, probably Jane Austin or Bronte I imagine, and read throughout the entire 2 hours. The older son who, dressed like a soldier from the 1900s, sat there drawing; the younger daughter with a similar little bun on the tippy top of her head was also reading, and I do think I spied a sketchbook in the lap of the younger boy. They had a certain calm intelligence about them. I found myself wishing I could be a fly on their living room wall at home. Very interesting indeed.

And now I’m back at home, in the quiet security of my little house, in my pj’s, with my nightly cup of tea. I’m thankful for nights like these. I’m thankful that I am able to enjoy the sweet goodness of life, the joy of music, the comforting warmth of a hot cup of tea. I am truly blessed. And positively grateful for my life.


 

One Response to “Music to My Ears”

  1. daniela Says:

    i am absolutely calmed by your sweet telling of the evening, and positively grateful for YOU.


Leave a Reply

