Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

The People Watcher November 17, 2009

Filed under: interesting bits and pieces — May-May Golly @ 3:58 pm
Tags: ,

“We sometimes encounter people, even perfect strangers, who begin to interest us at first sight, somehow suddenly, all at once, before a word has been spoken.”

-Fydor Dostoevsky

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

People fascinate me. Always have. I am constantly curious about their lives and interests and homes and clothes and hobbies and lifestyles. I love taking walks at night around the neighborhood, peering into the illuminated windows, getting a small glimpse of the way people live. I find myself staring at people I meet on the street, much to the chagrin of my husband. I stare because I am taking the picture of them in completely….. what they are wearing, how they sound, what they are saying, who they might be. The possibilities are really endless and my mind runs wild with the multitude of them.

Which really is another reason I love reading blogs so much. I’m so incredibly picky though. If I don’t know them personally or aren’t riveted by what they have to say, I can’t read them. So lately I have found a few blogs that truly appeals to the nosey posey in me when it comes to people and their lives. A handful of blogs that mesh two of my favorite things together: interesting people and fabulous photography.

First we have:

The Sartorialist is a photographer that randomly shoots people on the streets of lovely places such as Milan, New York, and Paris. Also a friend of another favorite blogger, Garance Dore’. They often colaborate on projects.

Next we have:

Another blog with random shots of people from Portland, with their random senses of style and fashion.

I do believe you can tell so much from a photograph.

But recently I have found my absolute favorite. Not only does this blog have a fabulous title, but the blogger tells you a little something about the person he is photographing with a series of questions that he asks every single one.

Not only am I impressed with the level of interesting characters this Bill chooses to photograph, but I love the quality, rustic, and artistic virtue of the photography itself.

All this exposure to fabulous photography only makes me even more painfully aware of the fact that I really need to get myself a new camera. Only the one that I want is $800. So until my ship comes in, I shall have to just be satisfied with admiring everyone else’s. *sighs*

 

One Response to “The People Watcher”

  1. Urban Weeds Says:

    I just found this post… Beautiful selections! Thanks for including Urban Weeds.

    xo
    Lisa


Leave a Reply

