Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

For the Love of Poe November 10, 2009

Filed under: interesting bits and pieces — May-May Golly @ 11:28 pm
Tags: , ,

Picture 16

“Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered, weak and weary,
Over many a quaint and curious volume of forgotten lore,
While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a tapping,
As of some one gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door.”

-The Raven by Edgar Allan Poe

++++++++++++

It was strange coming across this poem tonight. I read it and instantly recognized the dark rhythm of the words, recalling the sound of my father’s voice. You see, my father used to read me Poe when I was a child. I know, right? How dark. He loved poetry, my father did. All poetry but especially poetry that tells a story, which of course Poe was always good for. Yes, you could say I was raised on Poe. My father could quote such poems, extremely long poems word for word. And stories of Jack the Ripper as well. My father has been fascinated with the Ripper tale for as long as I can remember. We both have watched many a documentary on the History channel about Jack together. When Patricia Cornwell’s “Portrait of a Killer” came out, of course I ran right out and bought it for Pop. Granted, he LOVED it.

The result of exposing your young daughter to such tales? Well, I’ll tell you. I have always loved suspense and horror tales. Movies, books, I am all about it. And I love that I can share that commonality with my father. I can’t wait to share an interesting movie or book with him on the subject. Some people may think it a bit twisted and a bit twisted I may be. If I am, I owe it all to my dear old dad. šŸ™‚

Favorite movies growing up?

#1 will always be Planet of the Apes:

Picture 14

To this day, when I watch that movie, I feel like a 8 year old again, with the same feelings as I did back then.

Second, would have to be this movie:

Another movie me and Pop would watch together:

Picture 15

And then there was Hitchcock, dear old Hitchcock. Can’t forget about him. Those movies would keep me going for a spell as well.

And so I shall leave you, for I have more of memory lane to tread down. I plan on reading Poe’s “The Murders in the Rue Morgue.” Haven’t read that one in 20 years or so. Wonder if it’ll have the same effect as it did back then.

 

3 Responses to “For the Love of Poe”

  1. daniela Says:

    i love this post, and did not know these things about you. but i love hearing about this connection you have with your father. i don’t recall my father ever reading to me come to think of it, so this is very sweet to me faith.

  2. Brandy Says:

    Really great entry, dearest! I love Poe, grew up with him myself. And I LOVE ‘The Time Machine’! Great times and great memories. Love hearing about the you and your father have through these things, it’s truly wonderful and not weird at all.

  3. Jennifer B Says:

    I think this must be why I love Narnia so darn much. My dad read the books to us when we were kids and I loved the BBC movies when I was a kid. It has stayed with me, much like these have for you.
    Lovely memories….thank you for sharing.


Leave a Reply

