Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

We Have a Winner, Folks November 7, 2009

Filed under: interesting bits and pieces — May-May Golly @ 11:50 am
Tags: ,

“The dance of battle is always played to the same impatient rhythm. What begins in a surge of violent motion is always reduced to the perfectly still.”-Sun Tzu

+++++++++++++++++++++++

Being with Daniel has introduced so many new things into my life, things I never would have thought I would have the opportunity to experience. One of those is Martial Arts. Daniel has a black belt in Taekwondo……. which makes me giggle a bit when I think of how much I LOVED “The Karate Kid” growing up. Perhaps it has been part of his appeal. 😉 Recently though, he has taken up MMA, or Mixed Martial Arts. There are those out there who think me a bit crazy for supporting him in this new adventure. In reality, I was the one who encouraged him to take it up. I sensed something in his soul that was telling me it was what he needed to do. I understand why he wants and needs to do it.

Now he doesn’t get to have an MMA fight right away. It’s a process. First, he has to fight the Jiu Jitsu tournaments. Then comes Muay Thai. THEN, he gets to fight the Mixed Martial.

Today was one of the Jiu Jitsu matches. It makes for a long day when you have over 300 competitors! But it was well worth the wait. He won 3 out of his 4 matches and placed 3rd in his division, which was very exciting!

Picture 5

For those who would like to see him in action, I have posted a clip for you. Beware: there’s lots of what looks like man hugging going on. 😉

He won that last match with what is called an “arm bar”. This next match was won with a “guillotine”, quick and clean.

There once was a day I would have laughed at you if you had told me I would one day know what an “arm bar” is, or a “guillotine”, “triangle”, or  “heel hook” for that matter. Now I find myself shouting them from the sidelines. *chuckles*

Well anyways, I’m proud of you, Baby!

 

2 Responses to “We Have a Winner, Folks”

  1. cindy Says:

    Yeah…thanks for putting in those videos. Fun to see what he described on the phone.

  2. Jennifer B Says:

    thanks from me too. 😉


Leave a Reply

