Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

Quilting: The New Adventure November 3, 2009

“When life throws you scraps, make a quilt.” – Unknown

++++++++++++++++

+++++++++

I often have way too much time on my hands. I only work part time, usually starting around 4 in the afternoon, so there is a good part of my day freed up to do other things. There have been moments lately when I have complained to Daniel (with admittedly, a lot of guilt afterwards) that I am “bored”. And there  have been days when the boredom has been almost unbearable. It’s disgusting, I’m sure, to those out there who run around like chickens with their heads off, to hear me say such absurd things. Just know that I have been one of those chickens already. This is the first time in my life I have had so much available time! What to do with myself, what to do. Sure there is knitting. One can only knit so much. Sure there is cleaning. But really now, how much cleaning can a person do before insanity certainly sets in? Which is why I don’t focus all my energy on it. Anyways! What I needed was a new project. A new hobby.

And then there was quilting. My mother in law is a quilter and was hence part of my inspiration. One of my favorite bloggers, Posie Gets Cozy‘s Alicia Paulson , is a quilter, amongst other amazingly talented things.

So I thought, why not? I can do a quilt! Sure, I can do a queen size one at that! Go big or go home is always my motto. Or is it bite off more than I can chew? I can’t remember. I suppose it just depends on the day.

So I am making a quilt. It’s a lovely quilt from Alicia Paulson’s website.

Picture 12

The Ollalieberry Ice Cream Quilt. Although I have to say, my fabric is not quite as berry like as the ones she picked out. But lovely all the same. 🙂

Picture 13

All the lovely lovely fabric. I never thought fondling fabric in fabric shops could be so satisfying! Isn’t it all just so lovely?

Picture 14

My new handy dandy utility tool, the rotary cuter. My sweet MIL, knowing me as she does, STRONGLY cautioned me as to the sharpness of this tool. Don’t worry Cindy: I am cutting away from myself at all times!

Picture 16

My workshop:

Picture 15

All those squares to be cut!

Picture 17

So I shall let you know how this new adventure comes to fruition. I do believe this quilting business shall be good for me. Why, you ask? Well it requires something of me that I am often in great want of. PATIENCE. (Just ask Daniel.) So not only do I get to fondle lovely fabric every day but I get a desperately needed lesson in patience.

Yeah, I’ll let you know how that goes.

 

5 Responses to “Quilting: The New Adventure”

  1. Jennifer B Says:

    oh, oh, oh!!! A quilty post! I love it, love it, LOVE IT!!!
    Oh, and if I didn’t mention it before now, I adore your fabric choices. So lovely.
    Can’t wait to see it as you go along!

  2. Brandy Says:

    I very nearly starting quilting last month, but gave it up due to the cost of the final quilting over the whole piece, seeing as how it costs a couple hundred to do. There are other ways to do it, but with my sewing machine in need of maintenance, too, I felt it wasn’t the time yet.

    I’m excited to see you’re doing it, though! I heartily agree that it’s just what the doctor ordered for you. You’re going to love them! Can’t wait to see your progress. I love the homey-ness!

  3. cindy Says:

    I know you will do a terrific job! Can’t wait to see it in progress. I do love quilting….never tire of it.

  4. daniela Says:

    wow faith….this IS ambitious. patience? ha! i bet this is very meditative….

  5. Tink Says:

    How is it going my little petite quilter-poo? Can’t wait to see it ffffffinished!


Leave a Reply

