Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

Care for a Cup of Tea? October 4, 2009

“There are few hours in life more agreeable than the hour dedicated to the ceremony known as afternoon tea.”

 ~Henry James, The Portrait of a Lady

++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++

 

I have always known, even since a wee child, the joys of “tea time”. I have tea cups that I have had since childhood, passed down from my mother to me with love. And love them I do. I once had a room mate with whom afternoon tea was a regular practice. In those proper tea cups, of course. At every period of my life, during the good times and the bad, I have kept this ritual. No matter who I was at the time, no matter who I was with, I always loved the warm comforting beverage. And so I am dedicating this post to a past time I still cherish to this day: Afternoon Tea.

 

There’s tea for one….. which sometimes I partake of at a local tea room and lovingly share with a good book…..

Picture 1

 

 

And then we have tea for two….. which I most recently shared with my darling pal, Victorea……

Picture 4

 

 

This particular day we met over on Bainbridge Island for a trek to the yarn shop and some tea at Blackbird Bakery, a place I have come to love to bits…..almost as much as I love Churchmouse Yarn. (Which, by the way, is also a tea shop!) We sat there and drank tea for and hour and a half. That’s what we do best. 🙂

Picture 3

 

 

Yummy bread and Curry Cauliflower soup…. delish!

Picture 5

 

 

Of course before we went for tea, we were rather naughty and enjoyed a little tastiness of the ice cream variety. Ice cream, tea time, and yarn shopping all in one afternoon???? When can I have a replay of that afternoon? Yes please!

Picture 2

 

 

So as you can imagine, when my sister-in-law, Jen, said that she wanted to have a Tea Party for her birthday, guess who was the first to raise her hand wildly and offer to host it? Yep, you guessed it. I will take any excuse to break out all my lovely tea cups and dust them off. Not to mention spend an entire afternoon drinking tea and having girly talk?? Where do I sign up?

 

The table, carefully set and quietly awaiting the guests..

Picture 6

 

 

All my cherished tea cups and saucers came out to play for the day. They were lovingly polished along with my beloved Brown Betty, which I might add, is the best teapot you can find. It’s english of course. The english know tea. And tea pots. Something to do with the shape of the Brown Betty and the sort of glaze they use. I did a taste test once (yes, I know I’m a dork) and it’s true… it really does make a superior cup of tea. 

Picture 8

 

 

And of course, no tea party would be complete without proper cucumber sandwiches to complete the picture. Traditional english tea has you make them with just butter and cucumber on white bread, which I did. But I also made them with cream cheese that was mixed with fresh mint. So delicious! I must say. I never knew what all the fuss was about. I learned today.

Picture 7

 

 

The table complete with all the afternoon tea and refreshments…… cucumber sandwiches, homemade scones, chicken curry salad on croissants, and fresh fruit. *contented sigh*

Picture 9

 

 

 

So I was 4 candles short of 28. Apparently Jen will always just be 24 to me. 😉

Picture 13

 

 

A picture with a Ya-Ya that I love dearly and hope very much I am like when I grow up and have children. A ton of fun with a handful of nuts thrown in for good measure. (Also the maker of the fabulous Chicken Curry Salad I love so much.)

Picture 10

 

 

The birthday girl hugging all her presents. Yay, we love presents. My present was, appropriately enough, a tea pot. Make sure you take time, sweet girl, to have yourself a pot of tea when the day calls for it! It is ever so rewarding. 

Picture 11

 

 

And so I ask you, when is the last time you sat down and had a proper cup of tea? Been a while, has it? Go now, I say, and put on the kettle! After all, as the Japanese proverb says, “If man has no tea in him, he is incapable of understanding truth and beauty.”  

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Care for a Cup of Tea?”

  1. cindy Says:

    Great post.
    Rhonda and I eat at the Blackbird Bakery too when we are on BI…..I love their soups!

    Hugs.

  2. pam Says:

    Hi Faith! We’re a mainly tea household, but after hub’s fussiness with quality leaf-tea, can’t believe he always waits til his tea is nearly stone cold and unappealing to drink it! The party looks like fun! Those girlie days are great.

  3. Tink Says:

    Splendid!…a hand full of nuts by-joe!!! 😉

  4. Victorea Says:

    Dahling! I was having a low day and I shlumped into my kitchen and started my fat kettle a-boiling, thinking a cup of tea might help. It whistled, sorta (I tend to get the lispers of the tea kettle community), and I set about opening cupboards and drawers, collecting the required accoutrement for proper tea-making. Three and a half minutes later I had my hand curled around my favorite mug, and I felt so much better. My life equilibrium had come back and the day didn’t seem quite so…whatever it was. And I said a silent little thank you for the comfort and power of tea. I said it to you, with so much love, because you are the one who introduced me so thoroughly to the joys of tea. I doubt I would have stumbled upon it in such a rich way without your guiding hand; and my life would be so limited, so paltry without it. So, thank you. Thank you for sharing your love of tea.


Leave a Reply

