Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

Summer Reading July 19, 2009

Filed under: interesting bits and pieces — May-May Golly @ 11:30 am
Tags: ,

“Outside of a dog, a book is man’s best friend.  Inside of a dog it’s too dark to read.”  ~Groucho Marx

 

I have been reading a great deal this summer. We don’t have cable here at the Jandt residence and the new HDTV does not always care to cooperate. So reading had taken precedent. Which, to be frank, I prefer anyways. 

 

My summer book list is as follows:

Picture 12

This book was good, but nothing that I’d read again.

 

 

Picture 18

Yes, I’m STILL reading this book. This book that had taken me a year and a half to read! It is just so emotionally exhausting at times. I would read for a while and then have to put it down for a few months. I’m finally on my last chapter. Yay! Love the book, would highly recommend reading it, even if it takes you a year.

 

 

Picture 13

Just finished this book and promptly passed it on to my future sissy-in-law. Love love, love love loved it! A highly recommendable read. Read it SOON. Laughter and snorting shall ensue.

 

 

 

Picture 15

This is what I’m currently reading and loving. Apparently it will be a movie coming out soon staring Julia Roberts, which of course I shall have to see, just to critique it properly after having read the book. Yes, I plan on being on of those people.

 

 

Picture 16

Next on the list, just as soon as I receive it in the mail. I keep waiting impatiently for it to arrive. It is the first book in the Southern Vampire Series, which is the series of books that the HBO True Blood show is based off of. I’m currently addicted to True Blood, so much so that I have decided to read the books. I hope they are just as fabulous.

 

 

Picture 17

I am eager to read this one as well. There’s orphans and white magic and black magic and disturbingly handsome cousins named Edmond and queens in danger and ladies-in-waiting and mystery and intrigue and anything else you could possibly want in a summer read. 

 

So pray tell, what does your summer list look like? Anything I might like??

 

3 Responses to “Summer Reading”

  1. cindy Says:

    Jen here again…
    My summer reads so far consist of:

    *Little Women (had never read it before and was very pleasantly surprised at how good it actually was)

    *A Coal Miner’s Wife the diary of Anetka Navaniztch (not sure about the spelling of the last name there, but it was an interesting story.)

    *Mr. Wentworths Diary (a re-telling of Jane Austin’s Persuasion [my FAVORITE of her books] told from the hero’s perspective. Very good, if you like Jane Austin)

    Roverandom (by Tolkien, read aloud with Jon and Liam)

    I am currently reading Mansfield Park by Jane Austin, and in my reading “que” I have:
    *Mr. Bertram’s Diary (by the same author of Mr Wentworth’s Diary and the entire reason I am reading Mansfield Park. Figured I should read the original before I read the retelling.)
    *Auntie Mame (thanks for letting me borrow it!!) and a few others that are at home and I cant remember the names of them).
    And then, of course, there’s another trip to the library! How I love the library!

    I’ve wanted to read Eat, Pray, Love for quite some time, but can never remember when I am looking for a book at the library. I should make a list for the next time I go…

  2. This Guy Says:

    Eat Pray Love was awesome! I can’t wait for the movie too!
    I’ve been so busy this summer that I’ve sadly not read any books! Quite frightful for me!

  3. cindy Says:

    So you finally finished Pillars? Good for you. And I agree it’s worth sticking with! I’m wanting to read the Southern Vampire books too…..you’ll have to share when you’re done. 🙂

    My summer reads so far have been Under The Tuscan Sun that all us Yayas read – some times slow but a good read for non-fiction. A Stitch In Time by Kathy Lette – typical chick lit, fast read but funny. The Girl Who Stopped Swimming by Joshilyn Jackson – good story about a gal coming to grips with her life after a neighbor girl drowns in their pool. The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz – hysterical detective story…loved it. And now its The Three Miss Margarets – not done yet but so far its compelling.


Leave a Reply

