Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

Bye Bye to the Cluck Cluck April 22, 2009

“Rooster today, feather duster tomorrow.” -Russian Proverb

====================

==========

======

 

Remember this guy?

100_2956

 

Well, he no longer lives with us. No, I didn’t turn him into a feather duster. Or chicken soup. (I would be lying if I said that I didn’t think about it occasionally. Unfortunate, but true.)

No, I simply put an add on Craigslist, and a nice man from the town came and whisked him away. He now lives and reigns on 2 fenced acres. With 10 hens to now boss around. Why did we get rid of him, you ask? Well, I was tired of him trying to “protect” his girls and in the process give me another scar on my leg. The neighbors were tired of his incessant crowing and clucking and complaining. The little girls (the hens) were tired of his bossy ways and his bullying antics. I felt it was time for them to live life for themselves.  It was just time. It’s too hard having a rooster with that much personality within city limits. 

How are the girls, you ask? Well they seem to be doing just fine. They seem to love the peace and quiet. They don’t miss the fact that they had to throw their meager weight around to get to the food dish at feeding time. They don’t miss the pecking and prodding and the bossing around. Fran-fran still does her usual ugly wretched singing when she’s laying an egg for me and Greta is still her curious little self. I was so worried. Of how they would be after he was gone, that Rudy, with that strong personality of his. But they seem to be doing just fine. 🙂

Shhhhh. Listen. Hear that? Nope, neither do I! 

 

3 Responses to “Bye Bye to the Cluck Cluck”

  1. Katy Skinner Says:

    I liked your last line! I have gotten rid of roosters, too. They are the prettiest, but the noisiest. Thanks for the mention of my site, too (TheCityChicken.com) there in the right hand column. 🙂

    -Katy

  2. Brandy Says:

    That is a right handsome rooster, love! Happy to hear you have peace and quiet in the garden and home now, though. I can only hope that I won’t have the same problem next month when I get my chicks. I’m almost tempted to buy four instead of three, in case one (or more) turns out to be male. I’m crossing my fingers! But back to lovely you, you did a good job with yours girls (and boy), you’re a very good mommy, dearest!

  3. Tink Says:

    Your neighbors will now want to bring you cookies I bet. 🙂
    Love seeing your farmty antics on your blog.

    Mwah!


Leave a Reply

