Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

My Home Away from Home April 12, 2009

“Home is not where you live, but where they understand you.”

– Christain Morganstern

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

 

This weekend I went away to my home away from home. To the home of my dear, sweet Colette. My old neighbor, who used to live in the red house on the hill next door, but now who lives in Olympia. I loved having her live right next door, and whereas I do miss that terribly, I find myself loving the fact that she lives in this other cozy town, in another cozy little house. When I go for a visit, I feel as if I’m going home. I have my own room there, a sweet little room that I love dearly. The weekend usually consists of nothing but relaxing things and outings. Such as going to the farmer’s market downtown. 

 

Where you can find sweet flowers galore….

picture-9

 

picture-8

 

 

And lavender aplenty…..

picture-10

 

 

We purchased delicious jam which we slathered over homemade scones later that day…..

picture-7

 

 

And admired the multitudes of shellfish so delectable …..picture-12

 

 

Baskets and baskets of fresh potatoes and garlic……

picture-11

 

 

Tempting bakery goods…..

picture-13

 

 

It’s not a good market unless it has some sort of blown glass artwork to admire…..these are the delightful holders of birdseed…..

picture-14

 

 

Organic and delicious!

picture-6

 

 

Honey for your tea….

picture-17

 

 

And soap for your body……

picture-181

 

 

But my favorite vendor of all was selling seeds….. oodles and oodles of seeds…..

picture-16

See those poppies? I shall have some of those in my yard this year. ::blissful sigh::

 

Market lunch anyone?

picture-191

 

 

Food. Food is often a focal point of conversation on these weekends. Colette and I love food. We love to cook together and we especially love to eat together. Not only are my weekends with her relaxing, but I eat very well!

Colette, in her sweet kitchen, cooking us a splendid Sunday brunch….

picture-201

 

Almost done! The smell of cinnamon and apple makes my tummy grumble.

picture-211

 

 

I marvel at how much it looks like the picture…

picture-22

 

 

Our fabulous Sunday brunch consisted of German Apple Pancakes and a Omelet with Ahi Tuna, spinach, and cherry tomatoes. Pour yourself another cup of coffee and dig in!

picture-24

 

 

Thank you, sweet Colette, for creating such a warm, inviting place for me to retreat to, my home away from home. My nerves were so weary when I walked in the door, but were healed and calm when I got in my car to return home. I love my weekends with you. 

 

3 Responses to “My Home Away from Home”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    your photos are always so beautiful! You could make a fortune with them!
    I love reading your blog. Always a highlight in my day.
    I am glad you had such a nice weekend. Friends are priceless!

  2. Brandy Says:

    Aww, I’m happy to see you got to go see Collette! I always loved hearing the stories about her, she sounds like such an awesome person! Love the Farmer’s Market photos, I love really expansive Farmer’s Markets like that. So awesome, love, what a great weekend for you!

  3. cindy Says:

    You know you take good pics when a lunch on a paper plate looks like its not on a paper plate! 🙂
    Lots of nummy market foods.


Leave a Reply

