Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

Yakkety, smakkety, blah blah blah April 6, 2009

Monotony is the law of nature. Look at the monotonous manner in which the sun rises. The monotony of necessary occupation is exhilarating and life giving.

– Mahatma Gandhi 

 

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++

++++++++

++++

Here I sit again, on the sofa, wanting to blog. Thinking I should blog. Thinking it’s been a while since I have blogged. Drinking my Sleepy Time Extra tea (With Valerian!) in hopes that it will kick in and I’ll be too sleepy to blog and then I can put it off one more day. To be truthful, I just haven’t been inspired to blog. I haven’t really felt like there was much to blog about. My days lately have been reading about the same:

Sleep till about 10. Get up.

Make oatmeal. Lounge about on sofa eating oatmeal, drinking tea or coffee, checking email, etc. etc.

Get dressed.

Go to the gym.

Come home and do whatever chore doesn’t seem the lamest at the moment. 

Hang out with the sweet man.

Get ready for work.

Head to work. 

Write down the specials of the day.

Say the same thing over and over to customers, explaining the specials, about 50 times per night. 

Mouth off to the cook.

Harass the dishwasher.

Sweep and mop the lobby.

Close the restaurant.

Mouth off some more to the cook while closing the restaurant.

Head home.

Kiss the sweet man.

Make something to eat. 

Have some tea. 

Doodle around some more on the internet before Sleepytime Extra kicks in and I finally crawl into bed, usually around 1:20 in the am.

Get up and repeat.

 

See what I mean?!!?!?? I mean really. I have to look at that schedule and think, what the hell do I have to write about? It’s always the same. Don’t get me wrong. I love my simple little life I have going on here. It’s uncomplicated. And happy. But sometimes I feel as if I’m shall bore you with all the silly little details. I suppose the name alone of this blog tells you what you’re getting yourself into, however, when you swing by for a visit. Poppycock and sunshine? Perhaps it should read: Drivel and more drivel. It makes me feel like I should be doing more though. Something along the lines of volunteering to make a difference. Or taking an art class. Or just going back to school period.

I am planning a wedding. That’s not drivel. But even that is filled with simplicity. How the hell do you plan a wedding simply you ask? I’m Faith. I can simplify anything. 

How to plan a wedding on a tight budget, without pulling hair or killing people……

 

Stumble across your wedding dress at a thrift store. Mine was purchased at Value Village. It was $14.95, but I had a coupon, so I got it for $7.50. Dress? Check.

picture-18

 

Know people who sew. Or know people who know people who sew. My future mother-in-law, Miss Cindy has this lovely group of women she calls her “YaYas”. All these women are lovely and talented (have I mentioned they’re lovely?), much like Miss Cindy herself. One of delightful YaYas, Melissa, agreed to hem the bottom of my dress for me. Alterations: Check.

Make your own invitations. I had this great idea of making my invitations with some pictures I took, whatnot. However it wasn’t going to be as affordable as I had originally thought. So I happy to find some at Michael’s, a local craft shop, for $39.90. Now Michael’s takes JoAnne’s coupons, their competition. Brilliant! A 40% off coupon later, the bill came to $26. Not bad for my invitation cost. Not bad at all. You just print, stuff, and mail. Invitations: check, check.

picture-21

 

 

Get married somewhere free. Parks are nice. We are getting married at this one.

picture-20

Chetzemoka park, in Port Townsend. It sits on a bluff overlooking the water. This picture was taken in the wintertime, but I imagine it’s going to be gorgeous in August when we are getting married. There is a rather long rose arbor we could get married under. Or the gazebo. Or a few choice trees are also a delightful option, much like the one shown in the picture. And of course no wedding in the park would be complete without a gourmet picnic afterwards. Which is the plan. Hooray. Oh, and another thing… keep the wedding guest list SMALL. That also simplifies things immensely. 

 

Borrow a suit or kilt from someone. This would be what Daniel is doing. He is going to wear one of his father’s kilts to get married in. Which I’m really excited about. Brilliant!

 

Make your own bouquet. Do you even know how much flowers for a wedding cost? Oh lordy! Not for me, thank you very much. I’ve done this before. (Wink wink, nudge, nudge.) No, I plan on going early into Port Townsend the day off and hitting up the local farmer’s market, choosing what flowers strike my fancy, and wrapping some lovely and delightful ribbon around them. 

 

Know someone who is ordained. It’s rather convenient, don’t you think, that one of our dear friends had himself ordained already. Thanks, Joe. That’s super. Just remember, you have to say “love and obey”. Daniel’s all about the traditional vows, much to the chagrin of my independent minded women friends. ::chuckles::

 

Have your reception at a local bar or pub. After searching high and low for a venue to hold our celebratory party in and getting very discouraged, very discouraged indeed, we managed to stumble across this fabulous fact. At a local martini bar here in town, when you spend $500 or more, the whole bar is yours for the night. Really? So for about the price it was going to cost us for just the venue alone, we now have the venue (which is lovely), the booze, and a bartender to boot! ::sigh of relief::

 

Have your reception potluck style. Now I don’t mean the normal potluck style, where you tell everyone to bring a dish. No, for that would mean we probably would have a lot of Cheetos and Mac and Cheese, knowing some of Daniel’s friends. Instead, you choose 10 of your friends that you know would be willing to bring something, friends that you know can cook. You then ask them to make something for your reception. Hell, you can even tell them what to bring. Sometimes people like it as simple as possible. Lord knows at this point, you do. 

 

Know someone who is going to culinary school. Always beneficial when talking about cakes. I have a girl I work with that has offered herself willingly to bake, not only my wedding cake which will be small, but also my reception cake. She excited about having the opportunity to gain the experience and resume builder. I’m excited about having to only pay for the supplies. It’s a win win for both parties. Or so she keeps telling me. Whatever, I’m stoked. You should see the candied roses she’s been brining in to show me. It’s going to be beautiful, that I know. 

 

Have a talented friend take your picture. I have such a friend. Her name is Daniela. Not only is she one of the sweetest people I know, she’s also an amazing photographer. I have asked her to take my wedding pictures, which she readily agreed. I cannot wait to see our wedding day through the lense of her camera. (Dani also owns the shop downtown Poulsbo, Rubber Soul, which sells the most delightful array of stamps and crafting paraphernalia.) Thank you so much, Dani. I cannot even begin to tell you enough how much it means to me. 

 

Have a fabulous and generous hairdresser. Brooke is my hair girl. It’s not enough that she does a fabu job with my hair and that she doesn’t charge an arm and a leg. But then she had to go and inform me very firmly that she IS doing my hair for the wedding. As a gift. Well okay then. That simplifies that. 

 

Good lord. So apparently I had more to write about than I realized. With all this wedding stuff I could write a book actually! Okay, maybe that’s taking it a little far. Thanks for stopping by for a quick chat. And don’t worry, I plan on continuing to bore you with the daily drivel. 😉

 

4 Responses to “Yakkety, smakkety, blah blah blah”

  1. cindy Says:

    I love reading whatever you post….what you made for dinner….what the chicks are doing……what the dogs are up to….every day stuff is…..well….what every day is made of.

    You are rockin’ the wedding plans.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    You so totally better NOT stop writing about your daily life! It’s what keeps me from going completely insane, since I don’t get to see you very often! Reading what you write is like getting to be a little fly on your wall. I love it. Don’t stop.

    Also, I think you SHOULD write a book, all about planning a wedding simplified. It would be great. More people should do it the way you are!

    Can I just say that I love you? I really, really do. Wish I could see more of you too!

  3. Tink Says:

    Miss almost “Petite Ya Ya” this milestone event in your lives is going to be supreme! I can’t wait!!!
    Mwah!!!

  4. Brandy Says:

    OH, sweetie, the dress look so GOOD in that picture! it’s fitting you so perfect! The invitations look beautiful as well! Oh, Everything looks so nice! (Speaking of invites, yes, I PROMISE I’m sending you my address, I just have to get into my email account to send it to you privately, I keep getting everyone’s addresses that they’re trying to send to you.)

    Also, on another note, I knew exactly how you feel about ‘life is uninteresting or whiny, so don’t blog about it’, I’ve been right there with you for some time. But with spring coming around, I’m feeling a little more alive again, doing more things. I’m working on a new post right now, as a matter of fact, so maybe we’ll be blogging up a storm again very soon! I miss you, sweetie!


Leave a Reply

