Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

Little Snippets of Life February 4, 2009

Quote of the day:

“If the person you are talking to doesn’t appear to be listening, be patient. It may simply be that he has a small piece of fluff in his ear.”

– Winnie the Pooh

 

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

 

The Circle has begun. The Knitting Circle, that is. We had our first meeting a few weeks ago, and although not all of the group could be in attendance, it was a delight nevertheless. 

A toast with chocalat chou’ made with chili pepper ( just like in the movie, Chocolat!). Tres’ magnifique!

picture-15

 

Not sure if the lovely Miss Britt is here waving… or telling us how old she is.

picture-16

 

Not one of my finest moments captured on film. Not to mention it looks like I’m stark naked under that apron. I was clothed. I promise.

picture-17

 

The girls commiserating over coffee and homemade baklava (courtesy of Miss Brandy.)

picture-181

 

 

MORE SNIPPETS:

 

I am a hungry hungry hippo most of the day. Hungry Faith = Cranky Faith. Not good. So I decided to remedy this. 

Hunger is best satiated with granola bars in a pinch. However most granola bars in the stores are EXPENSIVE and/or FULL OF CRAP. Not my favorite combo. So I decided to go online and search for a homemade recipe. The result?

I found THIS recipe and decided to give it a go.

I would like to say that mine turned out as lovely as the ones in the picture below, but alas, they did not. I believe it still needs “tweaking” for mine to be successful, however they were tasty and definitely edible!!

HERS:

picture-20

 

MINE:

picture-1

picture-2picture-4

 

The end result? picture-5

More like “clusters”, rather than actual “bars”. Oh well. I shall keep you updated when I finally perfect the perfect bar!!

 

 

SNIPPETS ‘R’ US:

The joys of “Purging” the house? Reclaiming ones bedroom! Oh joy, oh rapture!
picture-8picture-11

picture-122

 

And finally CUTE GINGER KITTY SNIPPETS: 

 

Gus talk: “Purr. purr. purr. purr.”

Interpretation: “I do so enjoy this lovely pillow Mommy brought home from Value Village.”

picture-13

 

“Is that you in there, mommy???”

picture-14

 

3 Responses to “Little Snippets of Life”

  1. cindy Says:

    Fun for you girls to have your knitting circle up and running. We females need our female time for sanity’s sake! And that was some nummy looking hot cocoa! 🙂

  2. Jennifer Says:

    oh my goodness, I love your posts. Your knitting group looks like so much fun. I hope you all have wonderful knitty fun forever.
    And, your bedroom is gorgeous! (tiny bit of envy over here, I must admit!)

  3. Brandy Says:

    Mm, that whole night was just awesome. I think of it fondly so very often!! And now you’ve got me hooked on goat cheese! I’m looking forward to trying more of that hot chocolate in the future, so yum.

    Book’s turning out good, by the way, i can’t wait to talk about it at the next circle! Woo wee!


Leave a Reply

