Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

Confetti and Champange January 1, 2009

Filed under: The Clan — May-May Golly @ 10:56 pm
Tags: , ,

“An optimist stays up until midnight to see the new year in.  A pessimist stays up to make sure the old year leaves.”  ~Bill Vaughan

picture-39

This would be our second New Years’ Eve party in a row. Last year’s theme: 1940’s. This year’s theme: 1980’s.

Last year’s attendance: Roughly 20 or so. This years: a whopping 8. Everyone bailed on us. Whatever. More chocolate and cheesecake for me!

Last year’s party featured jello molds. This year, we rocked a chocolate fountain!!! Yeah, baby!

picture-12

 

It was quite the spread, really, thanks to our friends, Nika and Joe.

picture-10

 

picture-3

This would be me and Nika. And yes, she got the memo about the 80’s theme. 

Conversation between Mitch and Nika, prior to the party.

Mitch: “So what are you wearing to Faith’s party?”

Nika: “Oh! I got these new Micheal Kors boots! I’m planning on wearing them!”

Mitch, very loudly in his very loud voice that he has, with much inflection: “Micheal Kors is NOT from the 80’s!!!!!”

Nika, also very loudly, with matched inflection: “Micheal Kors is timeless!!!!” 

I had to chuckle.

 

According to Miss Cindy, we are Richard Gere and Julia Roberts in “Pretty Woman”! Maybe, if I had been able to find those hooker boots like hers. Of course, I could have just borrowed Nikas. *laugh*

picture-7

 

 

Glamour girls.

picture-11

 

So Nika used to be a model in the Ukraine. She was teaching me her model pose.

picture-211

 

And then I was teaching her mine.

picture-22

 

Which apparently, was comical.

picture-23

 

The gangsta.

picture-13

 

Apparently, I REALLY enjoyed the chocolate fountain. Please note the leftovers in the corner of my mouth. Classsssy.

picture-35

 

I have 4 words for you: Jem and the Holograms.

picture-26

 

Yes, it was my favorite cartoon. That’s the look I was going for. I even tried to make the gloves, but unfortunately the sewing machine wasn’t working. Damn.

picture-511

 

Oh, those silly kids.

picture-28

 

Yes, indeed. It was an evening to remember.

picture-19

 

Oh, and by the way, HAPPY NEW YEARS to you and yours!!!!

 

5 Responses to “Confetti and Champange”

  1. Tink Says:

    uhhmm, Dan is too tall to be Richard… 🙂

  2. pamela. Says:

    You’re so funny. You and Dan look beautiful together – and your party? Chocoholics heaven! All the best for 2009 dear Faith. May your chooks lay heaps, your doggies enjoy new scent trails, and you and Dan have health, happiness , and all your hearts desire!!

  3. Brandy Says:

    Aww, I didn’t bail on purpose! I promise you I was so geared up to go all ‘The Cure’ inspired! You know how families are, they’re the worst at making you do things you wouldn’t let other people get away with making you do.

  4. cindy Says:

    Just as fun to see pics second time around. 🙂 Glad you guys had a nice evening. Some day we’ll all have to celebrate together.

  5. daniela Says:

    i love the snow here at poppycock 🙂
    faith, your posts make me so happy, and seeing you in your new found bliss warms my whole heart. your smile and spirit are contagious – like a moth to light i want more! love love love to you….xoxo


Leave a Reply

