Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

Crumbled Wrapping Paper December 28, 2008

“The best Christmas of all is the presence of a happy family all wrapped up with one another.”

++++++++++++++++++++++++

 

picture-174

Presenting: Christmas at the Jandts

 

The role of Santa is being played by Mr. Dennis Jandt. And a merry one was he! Especially after we gave him his new brandy glasses and a cognac to go in them. 😉

picture-143

 

And here we have the Mrs. Santa Jandt, played by Miss Cindy, modeling her new scarf made with loving care by yours truly. Soooooo attractive. (If I do say so myself.)

picture-255

 

The Bobbsey Twins, Faith and Jen,  in their new handmade (thank you very much, Cindy!) aprons and matching rubber gloves…. ready to take on the world, one cupcake at a time!

picture-134

 

Pause for a touching moment being father and son. (Cue dramatic, emotion charged music.)

picture-106

 

Apparently Santa thought even the puppies had been good this year.

picture-155

 

He must have had selective eyesight and witnessed only the sweet moments and thankfully ignored the running-around-the-living-room-with-mommy’s-wrapping-ribbon-in-our-wet-slobbery-mouths moments. Thank god for small favors, right Charlie?

picture-243

 

“Who are you supposed to be again?”

picture-264

 

He was supposed to be the guy cooperating with this whole picture taking montage.

picture-271

 

He won’t be getting the Oscar this Christmas, that’s for sure, unless there’s a category for Best Crazy Blue-eyed Wacko Job available. (We’ll speak to the committee and get back to you.)

picture-291

 

Never mind him, David. More camera time for us.

picture-281

 

The true star of this show, however, was Liam Micheal Butcher. The cowboy. picture-124picture-83

picture-93picture-73

“I was five and he was six

we rode on horses made of sticks

he wore black and I wore white

he would always win the fight, bang bang

he shot me down, bang bang

I hit the ground, bang bang

that awful sound, bang bang

my baby shot me down.”

 

These boots were made for walking. (Yes, we love Nancy Sinatra.)

picture-112

 

And of course, no cowboy would be complete without a lunch box advertising their illustrious status. Obviously.

picture-165

 

 

Our Christmas feast. The Jandt family Christmas feast tradition? Fondue. Delicious, scrumptious, easy peasy fondue. 

picture-302

 

After last years Christmas, I promptly ran out and bought the first retro, all original, olive green fondue pot, circa 1970, that I could find for 5 bucks at the Goodwill. And this year, I got the chance to break that baby in! Ah yeah. Love it. Love love love looooooooove it.

picture-311

 

All this present opening, cowboy rangling, fondue eating, history making, holiday celebrating makes an old gal pooped out. I know how you feel, Bonners. Wasn’t it a lovely day, though??

picture-324

 

6 Responses to “Crumbled Wrapping Paper”

  1. cindy Says:

    As usual the photos are lovely. How can I resist the black and white cowboy ones? Wonderful. Can’t believe your camera even works….as much as it connects to the floor!
    We had a great Christmas day…so happy everyone made it.
    Hugs.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    Oh my goodness, I love love love this post. It’s great. “I laughed, I cried, it moved me Bob!” (VeggieTales—I am a mom of a preschooler after all!)
    I can’t wait to put up a real christmas post, not just my silly picture frenzy one!

  3. miznola Says:

    please ask cindy when she will be selling her crazylady dishwashing/bake-sale/theme-night (wink,wink),fabulous ensemble…i must have one!
    CUTEST COWBOY EVER!!!!

  4. pam Says:

    What a happy family gathering.Great Christmas photos! Wishing you and your family the happiest of holiday seasons Faith., and all the best for 2009.

  5. Rhonda Says:

    I feel like I just watched a movie on the Hallmark Channel…girl you can put it together…oh and BandN was out of the planner of my dreams..they suck! 😉

  6. daniela Says:

    hello sunshine!!! what a joy to “visit” – so glad you had a wonderful christmas. i still so adore my scarf you made for moi! love love love to you faithy poo! xox d


Leave a Reply

