Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

Truly Thankful Am I November 29, 2008

“No longer forward nor behind

I look in hope or fear;

But, grateful, take the good I find,

The best of now and here.”  – John Greenleaf Whittier

+++++++++++++++++++++++++

 

picture-172

It is my hope that your Thanksgiving was as blessed as mine. Fabulous food, wonderful family, and loyal friends. What more could anyone want?

 

Of course my Thanksgiving didn’t begin quite SO picturesque. It began with this:

picture-34

 

and this……

picture-43

That’s right, after almost a YEAR of resisting succumbing to all germs around me (thanks to the kombucha and healthy lifestyle), I got sick. The day before Thanksgiving. The Thanksgiving that I insisted on having at my house. Oh joy, oh rapture.

 

Day before Thanksgiving was filled with prepping and sneezing and blowing my nose. There was cranberry chutney to be made.

picture-56

picture-75

picture-86

 

 

There was a large bird to brine in preparation. I have never “brined” anything before in my life. Never even heard of it in any other context than pickles. 

picture-95

I took Martha Stewart’s advice and did a “dry brine”. Just grab some salt and rub away. Wrap tightly and refrigerate for a day or two. I have to say, it was pretty tasty.

 

Thanksgiving Day: That would be sicko me, putting the finishing pine cones on the napkin holders. So attractive! Woot, woot. I felt like poop at this point in the day. But the show must go on!

picture-104

 

The table awaits the guests, soon to arrive…..

picture-143

 

And when they arrive, with more yummy food in tow, oh what a welcome sight it is indeed. We managed to squeeze everyone and all the food on one table, a feat I was bound and determined to accomplish!

 

picture-182

 

It was tight and cozy, but the mood was merry.

picture-192

 

After what turned out to be a sumptuous feast, the thought of de-birding the bird was the least exciting thought in my mind. I heaved a heavy sigh when I realized it still had to be done. And then I was informed of a most delightful “tradition” in this lovely family. Apparently it has always been that Dennis strips the bird afterwards. Praise the lord and pass the cupcakes! I was so thrilled I had to take a picture.

picture-202

*sighs* Ah how I love this sweet man and his “traditions”. I also loved his pumpkin pie tradition as well. *wink* I partook of some more today as well. 

 

Another sweet sight for my poor scratchy, itchy eyes:

picture-213

The lovely Miss Cindy, my future mom-in-law, took pity on me and DID MY DISHES. Oh lordy, could the deal GET any sweeter??? Yuppers, it sure did!

picture-221

My beautiful future sis-in-law dried them all as well. I think I’ve officially died and gone to heaven. Gosh, they made it so painless, I think I would be willing to have it at our house again!! THANK YOU, soooooo much, you two. I love and appreciate you both more than I can say. 

 

Know what turkey does to you? Makes you sleeeeeeeeepppy.

picture-234

Ahhhhhhh….. so sweet. Apparently the sleepiness was contagious. 

picture-242

 

 

All in all, it was a delightful day, a smashing success. I was able to take today off from work to recoop from the icky sicky that I still am. And of course I had to make turkey stock to freeze from all those yummy bones I made Dennis set aside yesterday. Poor man, I almost had a heart attack when I saw him throwing away precious bones as he was picking the meat off. I caught him before he threw too many away. 😉 I was able to make 24 cups of yummy hearty stock for soup and whatnot this winter. Nothing goes to waste in this house!

And now, I shall leave you with another Thanksgiving quote that I thought you would enjoy. 

“May you stuffing be tasty,

May your turkey plump,

May your potatoes and gravy

Have nary a lump. 

May your yams be delicious

And your pies take the prize,

And may your Thanksgiving dinner

Stay off your thighs!”

-Anonymous


 

 

3 Responses to “Truly Thankful Am I”

  1. cindy Says:

    I love how our pictures are similar but capture differences! The one of Charlie sleeping is cute.
    I hope you are feeling better after a day of resting. Get lots of sleep.

  2. pam Says:

    Wow. Things have been moving along nicely in your household Faith. An overdue visit on my part has yielded many surprises, including your trip to Paris. I’m so happy for your future with your dear man, tickled pink in fact,and glad you had a lovely Thanksgiving gathering. The in-laws seem just the best. Hope you are feeling better soon.

  3. Rhonda-Roo Says:

    Lovin those napkin rings!!!!!


Leave a Reply

