Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

These are a few of my favorite things….. November 6, 2008

“I adore simple pleasures. They are the last refuge of the complex.”

-Oscar Wilde (1854-1900)

##################################

################

 

Some of my new and old favorite things that make me happy on a daily basis…….

 

My new rubber dishwashing gloves from Ross. They make me happy. I whistle while I wash.

picture-2 

 

My new Reed Diffuser. In boutiques for $30. Purchased at TJ Maxx for the delightful price of $5.99. Makes my living room smell like a really big gingerbread cookie. (Rather than wet dog.) Yum. 

picture-31

 

 

My new (used) $2 handbag, courtesy of Value Village. I feel oober sheik and stylish. And cleverly frugal. 

picture-51

 

 

My new (used) silky with pretty embroidery flowers PJ bottoms, also courtesy of Value Village. 

picture-72

 

 

What I’m currently reading. Also now one of my favorites. This author’s description of pain and life and recovery is poetic. 

picture-62

 

 

My beloved Brown Betty Teapot. Watch any british film or show and play “Find the Brown Betty”. It’s always there. A staple in every english home. Why? Because it makes the perfect pot of tea, of course. Something to do with the shape and the glaze they use, I’ve been told. 

picture-92

 

 

And last but certainly not least, my trusty ibook. I dread the day I am forced into trading it for a newer model. 

picture-82

 

Pray tell, what are a few of YOUR favorite things?

 

4 Responses to “These are a few of my favorite things…..”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    okay, so I really like the gloves. I just might have to hit my local Ross and see if I can find some. And the pj bottoms are beautiful!!!! Way to score on those!!!
    I love your favorites list. I will have to post one of my own in the next couple of days….keep on the lookout!

  2. miz nola Says:

    One of my most fav things is my BEST neighbor, the fabu and always stylish, Miss Faith.

  3. Cindy Says:

    I am so getting some of those gloves! I’m lost without my rubber gloves and to be chic at the same time…makes having to do the dishes much more fun.

    Tonight my favorite thing is those nummy decadent white fudge covered Oreo’s that are seasonal and only out NOW. And despite the fact that I have over eaten for a week, I *had* to buy a couple of boxes and pig out! No frugality with them either. 🙂

  4. Brandy Says:

    Oo, a favorite things list sounds so much fun. I will do one, eventually, I’m just so bogged down just now that I can’t possibly try to figure out what to take pictures of! Crazy stuff happening in my life, I tell you! Indeedly, so much so that I actually wrote something about it on my neglected little blog. Hopefully it will kick-start me back into blogging goodness.


Leave a Reply

