Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

What to Do on a Proper Fall Day November 5, 2008

 

“Winter is an etching, spring a watercolor, summer an oil painting and autumn a mosaic of them all.”  ~Stanley Horowitz

+++++++++++++++++++++++

Sunday was the most perfect fall day. It was the perfect temperature. The perfect amount of sunshine. It was absolutely inspiring. I love Autumn. Have I said this already?? This was the sight that greeted my eyes when I went out to check on the chickens.

 

picture-112

 

I had to take a closer look.

picture-12

Spectacular! God really is the most incredible artist.

 

So this is what you find when you haven’t checked for eggs in 3 days:

picture-101

Yes, I know. I am a bad chicken mommy. I liberated the eggs and let the girls and Rudy roam free for a bit as well. I think they forgave me the neglect. 

 

The Red House on the Hill looks delightful in the Fall as well. I think it’s that particular color of red that blends so nicely with the autumn hues.

picture-14

 

So this beautiful fall day inspired me. To be crafty. Now one thing I love in the fall and winter are wreaths of the front door. Like this one: 

picture-17

You can purchase this one at Target for the lovely price of $79.99. Since I cannot justify nor afford paying that for a grouping of dead leaves and grasses to hang on my door, I came up with a better plan. (I would like to take this opportunity to interject that I have absolutely NO clue why my writing suddenly turned blue and underlined, but as I haven’t the faintest clue how to get it back to black and NOT underlined, I beg your pardon. Back to our scheduled program…)

 

So I got on my warm down vest threw the ol’ hat on:

picture-81


First paying my respects to Mr. Squirrelly McS…..

picture-15


 

I got into the ol’ Van…..

picture-91

 

After I had grabbed my co-horts in crime, of course…….

Co-Captain #1:

picture-71

 

Co-Captain #2:

picture-61

 

We set off for this place:

picture-5

 

10 bucks later + a little crafty imagination = the finished product:

picture-3

 

That’s right. I made this one myself. Now granted, its not as fancy pants as the other one from Target…. or elaborate. But then, I never was a really showy sort of gal. Not to mention I have that extra $69.99 left in my pocket for more important things like food and gas and books!  And don’t you just think it warms up my little front door nicely??

 

picture-41

I thought so too!


 

3 Responses to “What to Do on a Proper Fall Day”

  1. Rhonda Says:

    Looks terrific, you have me wondering what I could come up with for a warm and welcoming door hanging for fall…if I come up with anything I will blog about it in your honor. 🙂

  2. Cindy Says:

    So crafty! I am still enjoying the beauty of this lovely fall we’ve been given. Its lasting a nice long time.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    beautiful pictures. Your yard must be gorgeous right now. I’ve loved how long and beautiful our autumn has been. I’m still not ready for winter, but I am getting there.
    Your wreath is pretty too. Good job saving 70 bucks!


Leave a Reply

