Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

May-May’s Monday Money-saving Minute October 27, 2008

Filed under: adventures of the golly sisters — May-May Golly @ 11:25 pm
Tags: , ,

“Books to the ceiling,

books to the sky,

my pile of books is a mile high.

How I love them! How I need them!

I’ll have a long beard by the time I read them.” -Arnold Lobel

================================

 

I love books. I love the feel of the covers underneath my fingertips and the feel of the pages as I flip through them. I love the smell of books. And yes, I am one who judges a book by it’s cover. Unfortunately not always do the covers tell the correct story. Anyways. I have books that I can read over and over and over again. Like this book:

Read it 5 times already, I have. And then there’s this one:

Read it twice actually. These are a few of the books that shall always and forever grace the shelves of my library. But then there are the other books. The ones where the covers, both front and back, misguided me. Books that I didn’t really care for. Rubish, some of them in fact. What does one do with such books?? Give them to Goodwill, I suppose. That seems charitable enough.

 

In the vain of saving money for myself however, I came up with the most brilliant solution! (If I do say so myself.) I concluded that there MUST be an online place where you could SWAP such books. Get rid of books you no longer wish to have cluttering up your bookshelves for books that are cluttering up someone else’s bookshelves. What’s that old saying? What is one man’s rubish is another chap’s treasure! And so I am thrilled to present you with my recent discovery.

www.PaperBackSwap.com

Post books you no longer want and for every book you send out, you can choose another from a list of books from others. All you pay for is the shipping, which let’s face it, is probably no more than a few bucks. Brilliant. I usually like to get my books used anyways. I frequent places like www.half.com or my local used book seller. Which methods I will still obviously use of course. But yet this kills two birds with one stone. Get rid of the books I don’t want. Get the books I do want. *happy sigh*

Another website of similar nature is this one:

www.bookmooch.com

 

However, if you are one who doesn’t really care for dealing with the Post Office, you could choose to use this site:

www.bookins.com

You pay $4.49 and they provide the shipping! No heading off to the Post Office. They even have their own theme song that was written for them by who, I assume, is a rather happy customer. *giggle* I’m not joking. They really do have a theme song. Listen to it here. Scroll down to the section that’s entitled “secret sauce.” 

Anyways, there you have it! Which one am I going to use? I don’t know yet. I have been perusing the websites and comparing them against one another. Haven’t quite decided yet, but you’ll be sure to know when I have! All I know is I’ve given up on making the Barnes and Noble owners any more richer than they already are.

In the meantime, read on, my friends, read on! 

 

 

4 Responses to “May-May’s Monday Money-saving Minute”

  1. Ruth Says:

    I have been a Bookmoocher for some time. It and Paperback Swap are pretty much the same in the way they work. The difference is that PBS is a for-profit site and they say they may one day charge. Also, they operate in the US only. BM is worldwide, and is someone’s hobby. Both BM and PBS only cost you postage at this time; whereas Bookins is about twice that. In other words, you are paying about $2.00 per book to avoid a trip to the PO. Another site is Swaptree.com. Whereas BM and PBS operate on a point system, Swaptree arranges direct swaps–but includes DVDs and CDs. I like the instant gratification of BM better.

  2. Mary Says:

    The Birth of Venus is a favorite of mine as well…Dunant is wonderful!
    I’ve checked out most of the book-swapping sites out there as well, and was kinda surprised that you didn’t mention swaptree.com. FOr those who don’t know, Swaptree is a site much like these, but better because you can trade books, CDs, and DVDs all in one place. Or just books if that’s what you want! It’s so much more user-friendly and they even have free shipping. Enjoy!

    -Mary

  3. Rhonda Says:

    Ahhhh…sweet Jamie memories! I read Outlander twice two. I am excited to use these resources, thanks for sharing my Bookie friend.

  4. Jennifer Says:

    the only way I frequent Barnes and Nobles is when I have been blessed with gift cards. Which, strangely enough, Jon and I have received 3 in the last year.
    I usually get my books from mom or the library. Otherwise, the boys keep me too busy to ready much and when I do, lately, I’ve been getting bad headaches (maybe time to go visit the ol’ eye doctor again……*sigh*)


Leave a Reply

