Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

Last Days of Sunshine September 24, 2008

 

“If a man insisted always on being serious, and never allowed himself a bit of fun and relaxation, he would go mad or become unstable without knowing it.” -Herodotus

+++++++++++++++++++++++++ 

 

I do believe summer is over, but by golly, I am enjoying the last little bit of sunshine it left behind in it’s wake.

How else have I celebrated? Well, I’ll tell ya’ll. I went camping in Kansas. Yes-siree-bob, I did. What do they have in Kansas, you ask? Well, I’ll tell ya’ll. They have……….

well now they have new aunties named Chris (she is Vic’s auntie, but I have adopted her as my own)……

 

….and they have fun contraptions, like four wheelers….

 

Kansas has real good spellers..

 

….. and fun critters too!

(Yes, you are seeing correct. That would be a tarantula.) 

 

There are wide open plains as far as the eye can see…..

 

So there story goes, all the women in Vic’s family go camping in Kansas all together every year. And this was the first year she was going to be able to go. And I got to go with her! Yay! Her momma was real surprised. It was a secret that she was going to be there.

 

Our campground was comfy……

 

and there were new friends to be made….

 

Kisses for Faithypooh……

 

We went to the local cemetary….

to check on the Grandpa…..

 

and his birdhouse.

 

We enjoyed amazing sunsets…..

 

….. and nights by the fire.

 

If you’re going to Kansas, don’t forget your “do-rag” for yer head. 

 

I have to say, I found the scenery rather pleasant….

 

 

The thing I enjoyed the most about Kansas? The people!! I loved this little lady.

 

All the LeValleys, plus a few adoptees……..

 

I had a lovely time camping in Kansas, yes I did. It was fun. It was relaxing. There’s nothing like coming home though.

 

How have you celebrated the last days of summer???

 

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Last Days of Sunshine”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Oh wow, it looks like you had fun. And I love those last couple pictures. WOWIE!

    As for me, I’ve been enjoying the last few days of sunshine taking walks with my boys and letting Liam ride his trike OUTSIDE.

  2. This Guy Says:

    Wow! Looks like you had an amazing trip! The scenery was beautiful!! I think if I had been you and saw that spider, I wouldnt have time to take a picture, i’d be too busy running away and pee’ing my pants.. lol

  3. pam Says:

    Oh Faith-pooh! So many friends, four-legged and otherwise. That little doggie is bursting with happiness and you look like you are as well! I love camping so much, but how brave are you in tarantula territory!. Nights by the fire…mmmmm. Beautiful scenery, and great photo from the plane. We are in our first days of Spring here – it’s beautiful!

  4. Tink Says:

    I think I need to get that bff of mine out on a woman wilderness trip….nah never mind, we don’t like kritters that have eight legs!

  5. Cindy Says:

    Big….hairy…..BIG….did I say BIG?….spiders???? Nuh Uh!
    The rest of the adventure looked like fun….high five to girl time.


Leave a Reply

