Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

Good things…….. August 27, 2008

Filed under: Chickens, organic gardening, and the like.... — May-May Golly @ 9:52 pm
Tags: , ,

“We must rapidly begin the shift from a “thing-oriented” society to a “person-oriented” society. When machines and computers, profit motives and property rights are considered more important than people, the giant triplets of racism, materialism, and militarism are incapable of being conquered.” – Martin Luther King Jr.

******************************************************************************

I am on a constant search for people and things that will motivate and inspire me. I have big dreams and lovely plans, but my execution is not always what I would like it to be. The lovely Edwina has, through her delightful blog, A Little Snoring, introduced me to this gentleman.

Meet Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall. He’s a brilliant englishman with a brilliant concept and idea that he has successfully put into action. What might that be, you ask? Watch the following video for the answer and see what has me positively giddy with delight.

 

 

Do you feel inspired yet? This next one made me want to add another addition to the family. Of course I think Daniel would probably tan my hide!

 

 

This particular video made me want to run out and hug Rudy and the girls. 😉

 

 

 

And finally, another reason to rethink what we purchase at the grocery store………

 

 

Are you inspired?

 

3 Responses to “Good things……..”

  1. Brandy Says:

    Incredibly! You know we’ve always been into the ‘commune’ idea, Britt and I are right behind you. It makes me wonder if there’s a similar law here in the US? Could we possibly get a free allotment of land for the production of food? I think we should research!! I’m so ready for that!

    And while I’m not really interested in eating anything from a pig (ham, bacon, pork… just doesn’t typically interest me), those pigs looked like way too much fun! It reinforces my desire for chickens and my own little farm. I loved seeing the lambs in the field at his home. I have a hard time with the idea of slaughtering my own animals (as in me, personally, doing the killing) and I can’t seem to find a butcher nearby let alone one willing to kill animals I bring to them, otherwise I’d go for it. Rabbits are so easy to breed and raise, and I’ve got one half of a pair. So many little things tell me ‘no, you can’t yet because you don’t have the resources’. But if we all did it together? If we all found the things we needed and put in the work together? My God, it would be fabulous!!

  2. edwina Says:

    I am glad you like Hugh, I have been really inspired by him as well. I am not sure I can go beyond Chickens, but my veggie garden is getting bigger and bigger, and I just really love, eating things from the garden. I am even eating the leaves from broccoli, which are really nice lightly stir-fried, because I figure grew it organically so why not eat all of the plant! Ha, pretty funny as well as fun.

    My Friend has more of Hugh on DVD. Apparently he has done quite a few series’ including how to find and cook and eat food that is growing wild, by the side of roads and streams, that we would consider weeds. Sounds fascinating.

  3. Brandy Says:

    You know, I just decided to traipse on over here and watch these videos again. They’re such great videos, I really wish there were more of them. The dream still lingers, the desire to be able to provide for ourselves and eat more healthily. I look at my own back yard and I think: What can I do here? Growing will be a breeze, certainly, but I worry about my neighbors when it comes to animals. I still want to try the chickens, perhaps next summer. Of course, I still want to expand in the long-term and have my own smallholding/homestead. I still love the idea of all of us going in on a space together, there will be more hands to do the work and less money involved from any one of us. Dewey-eyed dreams, but we’ll get there (or somewhere like it) with baby steps.


Leave a Reply

