Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

Adventures in Catering August 24, 2008

“My candle burns at both its ends; It will not last the night; But oh, my foes, and oh, my friends… It gives a lovely light.”  ~ Edna St. Vincent Millay

***************************************

My body aches and my mind is tired, but the weekend certainly was an interesting adventure. I had a lovely time at Lake Cavanaugh last week with Daniel and his family, but I shall speak more of that trip later. Right now I’m far too anxious to tell you how the catering gig went. It seems as though we have been talking and planning forever, and yet the day crept up on us so swift. Needless to say, it went well. Phew. 

And now I shall take you through the latest of May-May and Rose Golly’s adventures, that being catering a wedding, for the first time ………….with 150 guests. We took photos of all the glorious chaotic preparation, of course, and also created a sort of video diary as well for your amusement. I hope that you enjoy the show. 😉

 

 

“THE GOLLY SISTERS CATER A WEDDING”

LE MENU’: 

* Herbed Pasta Salad

* Handcrafted Boule’ Baguettes

* Rustic Thyme Crackers

* Soppresata, Virginia Ham

* Brie Cheese, Herbed Chevre’, Irish Dubliner

* Fresh Green Salad

* Peach Chutney and Classic Olive Tapinade

* Tuscan Chilled Salmon

* Roasted Rosemary Walnuts and Spiced Candied Pecans

 

DAY: WEDNSDAY

TO DO LIST: PREP DOUGH FOR 50 LOAVES OF BREAD, MAKE OLIVE TAPINADE, PREPARE DELICIOUS HERBED PASTA SALAD.

The Golly Sisters smile pretty for the camera before they get to work in the kitchen.

 

To say this was the largest batch of bread I’ve ever prepared in one go would be a massive understatement. The kicker is, I had NO idea if it would even turn out. But that’s how I fly, always by the seat of my pantaloons. 

A very sticky job, to say the least!

 

I apologize now for the crink in your neck. You can thank Miss Rosey Posey Golly for that one.

 

In case you’re terribly curious, the bread did, in fact rise appropriately. Almost TOO appropriately, I might add.

Good god.

 

When life hands you lemons, make tapinade.

 

When your best friend hands you a lemon zester she got at the dollar store, make it look like you paid $16 at Sur La Table. 

 

 

After bread mixing, it was on to other things. Such as……

 

And………..

 

It really was the loveliest flavor combination ever.

 

The bread was just dying to be made already!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

 

DAY: THURSDAY

TO DO LIST: BAKE 50 LOAVES OF BREAD &  RUSTIC THYME CRACKERS. MAKE ROASTED ROSEMARY WALNUTS.

 

The day of baking had arrived. I put on my little apron and got to work. 

The task of baking 50 loaves of bread was a daunting one to say the least, but I was not to be pansy ass. Not I. It could be done, of this I had confidence. But first, one must stop for an impromptu photo shoot to prepare the mind and spirit.

What the hell… make it two.

Oooo la la…. you want to hire us now, no??

 

And of course, a quick snuggle with Miss Gracie Lou.

 

ROASTED ROSEMARY WALNUTS GALORE.

 

And then there were the Rustic Thyme Crackers.

I have to tell you, this part of the day had a few hiccups.

The Good…….

The Bad (too puffy) ……

……and The Ugly.

After realizing that the crackers were NOT what she was wanting them to be, as well as the fact that the Roasted Rosemary Walnuts (see picture below) were presenting themselves to be problematic, Miss Rose Golly was at a point of near emotional meltdown. She eventually crossed the line after a few glasses of wine. There were tears, during which period I found myself wiping them and blowing her nose for her. That’s true friendship there, folks. The Walnuts were eventually rectified after a series of throwing them back in the oven and getting the goop off ( I had a really great video to show you on this topic, but, much to my utter dismay, it managed to somehow get erased. Sadness). The crackers were not crunchy as a cracker should be, but still tasted fabulous, so I decided that we are the owners of this culinary experience and we can call them whatever the hell we fancy. So I announced with confidence that they were not, in fact crackers. They shall now be called “Rustic Thyme CRISPS”. Viola! That’s what you call “rolling with the punches”.

 

 

The other thing about baking 50 loaves of bread, is that you then have to SLICE 50 loaves of bread….. in my case just happened to be BY HAND.

 

If you consult with anyone who has ever known or worked with me, they will tell you: Combine Faith with sharp blades and there WILL be blood. This day was to be no different from the others.

 

In between batches, there was time scheduled in to stop and breathe. And knit.

That would be me, trying to finish the dish cloths I was knitting for a wedding gift for the wedding we just happened to be catering. Every bride needs a good set of knitted dish cloths! They lovely and absorb well, not to mention you can bleach them. 🙂 

 

Anywho. I now pause with the photography documentary to share yet another Video Diary shot for your enjoyment. 

 

Now I caution you, this particular video may not be as riveting as the others and does include slight moments of irreverence, please do not take offense….. in the spirit of honest documentation, I included it anyways. 

 

 

 

The day had it’s ups and downs. The downs had to be combated in the fashion you see pictured in the next series of pics.

 

 

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

 

 

DAY: FRIDAY, D-DAY

TO DO LIST: MARINATE, GRILL, AND CHILL 22 POUNDS OF WILD CAUGHT SALMON. MAKE PEACH CHUTNEY. FINISH RUSTIC THYME “CRISPS”. SPICED CANDIED PECANS. HERB THE GOAT CHEESE. STAGE ALL MEATS AND CHEESES FOR QUICK ON-SITE PRESENTATION AND HANDLING. PACK BUS. TAKE SHOWER AND LOOK PRETTY. 

TIME OF SHOW: 6 PM

 

I went to bed the night before at 12:30am, after the last loaf was baked off finally and I had cleaned the kitchen. Britt, who is a MUCH earlier riser than I, went to bed at 10:30pm. Upon waking up at 7 in the morning, this is what greeted my eyes.

 

The marinating of the Salmon. This Tuscan Chilled Salmon is a delectable addition to any meal and is fairy simple to prepare. I have posted the recipe for your enjoyment HERE. You simply HAVE to try it! Daniel, who previously claimed to not like salmon LOVES it. 

In agreement with the bride’s wish to keep everything relatively local, we purchased this wild caught salmon from the lovely chaps at the world reknowned Pike Place Fish Market. 

 

 

The bus being packed with all the table props:

 

So here, with this video diary excerpt, I shall now take you through the last little bit of the catering adventure. The final moments of brilliance and candor. Grab some popcorn, this ones a mite long.

 

And finally, the finished product!!

 

* CATERING ADVENTURE OF MAY-MAY AND ROSE GOLLY, THE FINALE *

 

The lovely bride and groom, taking their vows.

 

The Golly Girls, operating out of the back of the “cater mobile”, frantically but cheerfully trying to get the food out before scheduled. Complete with blue car mechanic gloves.

 

Jeremy, our beloved “fat asian” (never fear, he calls himself that. It’s a term of endearment), Daniel’s BFF. He’s here giving me my seriously overdue dose of harassment, as well as sampling the goods before they went out. Quality control is always needed of course. 

 

 Faith’s beautiful man, Daniel, lends a helping hand. 

 

Work pauses for cute photo op.

I’m Salt, she’s Pepper. 

 

 

 

The final product.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I believe that is a very candid picture of me forcing myself to breathe. 😉 Not the most becoming, I might add.

 

 

 

Salt and Pepper Catering. Faith, aka May-May Golly, and Britt, aka Rose Golly. Business owners, masterminds, creators, artisans, think tanks, grunt work, cooks, bakers, clean-up crew, best friends….. all wrapped up in two cute, but very sassy, little packages. We took names and kicked butts. People ranted and people raved. The bride, Colleen, said we “surpassed her wildest dreams” for the perfect wedding in the food department. The mother of the bride, who I might add was a tad bit apprehensive about  the whole idea of hiring two caterers who had never actually catered a wedding before, came up to both of us with the biggest smile, saying that she had gotten so many compliments already on the food and was then asked “who were the caterers??”.

I don’t think I can properly put into words the feeling of complete and utter satisfaction the Golly Sisters shared after the whole thing was over and the cater mobile was packed up to go home. We were positively giddy. There were high tens in the air and silly little jigs danced. We had successfully taken a hair-brained idea and made it a reality. We proved to ourselves that, when we put our  minds to it, we can do anything really. And do it all flying by the seats of our pantaloons. A new business was born. (Hopefully one that will take off in the near future.) A friendship was strengthened. Confidence was increased.

 

And I shall conclude this little story by saying, BRING ON THE NEXT ADVENTURE!!!!!!!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Adventures in Catering”

  1. Brandy Says:

    I can’t tell you how jealous I am of how amazing you two are. You’re entertaining, witty, talented, gorgeous, and successful. Bring it on, indeed, babe, you deserve this. You’re incredible. If you guys ever want to do a professional photo shoot, I’ve got the backdrop and lighting gear that I can pull out and set up and we’ll take some awesome snaps of you guys. Plus, I’d love to be your photographer next time you’re in the kitchen, they would make for great pictures and videos on your future saltandpepper.com! To see both of you onscreen at once would be better than ever. Love the videos to death and I wish I could’ve been there. Tons of lovelovelove.

  2. Cindy Says:

    You girls did a great job! Very proud of you. Faith, you’ll have to bring me a few business cards so I can pass them around. High fives!

  3. Victorea Says:

    It looks Beautiful. Bravo!

  4. Jennifer Says:

    Good job, girlies!!! It all looked fantastic and so incredibly delicious. If your cooking at the lake was any indication of how this food endeavor ended up, then it must have been great. I think its wonderful that you made such a success of your first catering gig. Well done! And thanks for sharing!!!!


Leave a Reply

