Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

Tough as Nails June 4, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — May-May Golly @ 12:51 am

So after I left Starbucks, I listed one of my favorite things about NOT working there was that I get to now wear nail polish whenever I get the notion. I find myself wearing it more than not. And all those pretty colors. Oooooooooooh my. However, much to my chagrin, I also find that I manage to chip and ruin my pretty polish job quicker than you can say “how d’ya do”….. which is rather a pain in my ass, if you must know. Putting the pretty polish on is all fine and dandy, but having to take the polish off all the time because of chips is obnoxious. So I have come up with a solution. If you would like to be privy to this brilliant solution, please read ahead.

 

“How to Stretch that Polish Job” by May-May Golly

1. Notice chips in polish and sigh heavily in disgust.

2. Grab appropriate nail color from bathroom cabinet and sit on bathroom toilet with hand propped up on knee.

3. Blob said nail color in places on nail bed where said nail color is missing, or “chipped”.

4. Allow to dry.

5. Quickly re-apply another coat of “Out the Door” Quick drying Nail polish to “blend”.

6. Determine to gesture wildly when speaking to people and hope they won’t notice not-so-perfect manicure.

7. Congratulate self on brilliance and ingenuity and admire nails. ……….From afar……….without contacts in.

 

And in other news: THE PHOTO OF THE DAY IS………

Mr. Jandt in his “man room”. 

Word of advice to the ladies: 

Allow your man this comfort, if you can. It is important for them to have their own “space”, just as much as it is for us. And if they take simple pleasure in playing World of Warcraft, LET THEM. They don’t bitch when we meet our girlfriends for coffee or get our hair did. Don’t bitch at them for playing their favorite video game. As long as they know it must have it’s place. And that that “place” come AFTER time with you.  

 

2 Responses to “Tough as Nails”

  1. pam Says:

    He looks happy.No need to shave, which annoys my husband a lot. And to think you are just a bathroom away. If he has a full tummy , along with all that,I bet he’s blissing out, whether your nails are chipped or not. Ahhhh…simple pleasures.Love this site. (A base coat works wonders for the nail polish thing, if you have the patience.) I am a reformed nail chip-patcher,because the assistant in the chemist convinced me of the benefits of persevering with the base coat.Works well. I was skimping on that bit. Draw the line at her suggestion of putting it on the top as well though. I only have so much time. Don’t want to be late for the girls!

  2. Brandy Says:

    Here here on both accounts in your entry! Give a man his space, and getting to have pretty nails! I make myself feel better about the latter by telling myself I’m saving money by not buying nail polish or going out to get manicures. I still sniffle, however, forlornly with desire.

    As for what Pam said, it’s true. A base and top coat are big factors in saving the poor polish from chipping too fast, that was the way I learned to do it when I was ten, from a nail tech. (She taught me how to do a full manicure and have, on rare occasion, treated myself.) Ah, the good old days when we had manicure parties…


Leave a Reply

