Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

How Does My Garden Grow? June 2, 2008

………with lots and lots of weeds.

 

“Gardening requires lots of water — most of it in the form of perspiration.”

-Lou Erickson

The feeling of accomplishment is an incredible thing. I started today with a headache and finished with many projects completed, thanks to a ache-free head and a boost of caffein from my Excedrin Migraine. I was able to harvest my spinach finally.

After which I became sidetracked with weeding that so desperately needed to be done. 

And above would be the finished product. A lovely garden bed, minus spinach and weeds. 

The fruits of my labor. Along with some straggler kale that decided to sprout in the pathways. It’s tasty in soups, so I had to pick it. My goal for planting this garden: freeze as much as I can for the winter enjoyment. So the rest of the evening was spent cleaning and blanching and freezing. What I learned from this experience? Next year, PLANT MORE SPINACH. Basically all those three baskets only produced 2 bags for the freezer and 1 for the fridge. Hmph. Well, this is all a new adventure for me, so I shall take notes and carry on. For tips on how to properly freeze fresh veggies, click HERE.

Also accomplished this evening: Yummy Chicken Veggie soup, with a lovely little addition of kale. Made with homemade chicken stock and leftover chicken, compliments of “Really Good Roast Chicken”, a recipe I got from one of my favorite cook books, Joie de Vivre. I made it for the first time this weekend and man oh man alive. It FABULOUS. He has you stuff a stale piece of bread in the cavity, which maintains the juice of the chicken from running out into the pan. The result: a succulent meal. For the recipe. click HERE.

I love my life.

 

One Response to “How Does My Garden Grow?”

  1. Brandy Says:

    It’s looks so beautiful! Oh, the envy! I can’t wait to start my garden! Well, except the whole not having money to do it yet part, of course–but soon! Oh, how wonderful, Faith, I can imagine the rush of happiness and pride you’re feeling! Hold onto it!


Leave a Reply

