Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

Tuesday Tidbits May 13, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — May-May Golly @ 1:48 am
Tags: , , ,

Quote of the day:

“If a man walks in the woods for love of them half of each day, he is in danger of being regarded as a loafer. But if he spends his days as a speculator, shearing off those woods and making the earth bald before her time, he is deemed an industrious and enterprising citizen.”

-Henry David Thoreau

It’s Tuesday and here I sit on the tattered sofa, watching the rain outside. I had every intention of rousing myself today and working out in the garden, shoveling dirt and planting little plantses. But alas, the lovely Washington weather has spoiled my aspirations. So instead I find myself, once again, surfing the net instead. I think I may have a serious addiction that requires immediate attention. Or not. I have been reflecting on the amount of time I spend on this Mac o’ Mine with a great deal of thought. I think of the time that I spend browsing utter drivel, time that could better be spent on things like reading, knitting, cleaning, and gardening. Of course it is usually due to the fact that this is sometimes the only thing I have the ENERGY for. Whatever. Poppycock, I say! So enters now another new resolution. (The last one about not eating pasta anymore is going QUITE well, thank you very much. Am feeling less bloated and do believe I may have even dropped a pound or two. Quite proud of self really.) New resolution: Be on internet less. Use time more productively and creatively. Another thing I have bemoaned lately about myself…… the fact that I cannot seem to finish what I start. Take books, for instance. See these books? I have started all of them and have yet to finish one! I know, right? A shame to all fellow book lovers worldwide. Yes, I know. Enter resolution #2 of the week: Finish all 4, one at a time. I think I can, I think I can. 

Other things on the list of “things to finish”….. knitting projects. Painting my hallway. Planting my garden. That movie I started watching 2 days ago. This blog post.

So more news from the adventurous Rose and May-May Golly. (If you haven’t been paying attention, that’s me and Britt.) We successfully met with Colleen and her mother last week regarding the catering of her wedding.  We prepared everything on the menu that we have spent the past several weeks researching and talking and agonizing and talking and shopping and researching about. They entered her cozy little beach cabin and were greeted with a coffee table filled with sumptuous treats for the eyes and mouth. We all sat down and ate and ate and ate some more. I was very nervous, I have to admit. A cook is always nervous of whether or not her guests are going to enjoy their meal, but there was a great deal hanging in the balance. What if they hated it? What if Colleen regretted saying yes to us doing this?? Oh, the butterflies in the tummy tum tum. I am happy to report that there was a lot of yum noises being made as they sampled and tasted and lip-smacked away. They both agreed on everything that we had chosen for the event and were quite pleased with the outcome. They left. We shut the door. And then we high fived and shrieked like 6 year olds and danced around the living room like buffoons. Apparently all our professionalism that we had whilst they were there walked out the door with them when they left. 🙂 We were quite proud of ourselves, thrilled to itty bitty pieces at the prospects that could come in the future as well. Yay for the Golly Sisters.

Well I suppose I have spent more than enough time today lollygagging about on this sofa in this pretty pink bathrobe of mine. There is laundry to finish and a kitchen to clean and chicks to feed and bread to bake and a restaurant to eventually go to for work. I just need to check my email real quick. 😉

 

2 Responses to “Tuesday Tidbits”

  1. Brandy Says:

    Oh, Lord–resolution number two has been one of mine for ages now. I find I’m doing much better, however it seems to stem from a sudden lack of desire to be online. A bonus, really, but not something having anything at all to do with my willpower being very good. Go the way of the non-pastaness and be successful!

  2. […] there was knitting projects for her to help me finish (keeping in line with the whole “finish projects” resolution.) […]


Leave a Reply

