Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

Brought to you by the maker of a nutritious breakfast May 5, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — May-May Golly @ 12:17 pm
Tags: , ,

I am a lover of food. Always have been, probably always will be. Since I have started working at an Italian restaurant, I have consumed more pasta in 4 months than I have in all of my 31 years of existence. Not good, folks. Of course, it’s tasty and delicious and quite satisfying when one is starving after a 4 hour shift (I know, my life is rough, right?) …. but it has absolutely NO nutritional value. Empty calories, if you will. That is something I am NOT thrilled about. So here is my May resolution: to STOP eating pasta on a daily basis just because it’s there and I can. Now in a perfect world, I would also resolve to stop my consumption of bread as well. But as we all know, this is not a perfect world and I am not the resolution queen. I’m of french heritage for crying out loud! My people LOVE bread. So, instead, I shall conclude to LIMIT my consumption of the slices of buttered, warm, delicious goodness on a plate. I also think when one is trying to rethink their eating habits they should also take into consideration their stamina and metabolisms. Brittany, who happens to be a vegetarian, agrees with me when I say that I could NEVER give up meat. I am what you would call a “fast burner”. Which, in layman’s terms means 2 hours after I have eaten a rather filling meal I am undoubtedly going to be hungry AGAIN. (It is becoming the bane of my existence.) Mixed with the unfortunate fact that when I get very hungry, I also get very cranky and lose all ability to function properly and nicely in human society. So I am one who must, I repeat MUST, have some sort of protein, preferably animal, with every meal. Otherwise I am a danger to society and an annoyance to my boyfriend. (It’s the later that I’m really the most concerned with.) So I hereby raise my right hand and solemnly swear to myself on this here blog and in front of you there people that I shall no more be an eater of the pasta (I mean they DO have salads, you know) or anything else that resembles empty calories. I shall hereby sweat to LIMIT my bread eating and get back to my training of the ancient methods of cooking, making all that I can from scratch and limiting the processed food. I shall use this blog to track my progress and accountability. I would hate for the world to know what a big hairy loser I am. It’s all about the accountability. So as you can see from the beginning of this post, I have begun my day with a healthy breakfast. Animal protein: check. Nutritious fruit: check check. I also made a humongous  pot of healthy Chicken Veggie Soup, which I will include the recipe for your enjoyment. Go in peace and be well fed!

Homemade Yummy Chicken Veggie Soup

2 breasts of chicken, diced             2 tblsp butter, olive oil, or coconut oil

1 onion, diced                6-8 cloves garlic, diced

1-2 cups diced celery            1-2 cups diced carrots

3-4 Yukon gold or white potatoes, cubed              

1/2 head cauliflower, chopped              Salt and Pepper to taste

4-6 cups homemade chicken stock (for recipe: http://www.ntmealsthatheal.com & click on “recipes”)

In large pot, simmer garlic and onion in butter or oil for 5 minutes. Add carrots, celery, cauliflower, and potatoes. (You can also include 1 cup cabbage for an even heartier soup!) Let cook for 10 minutes or so. Add chicken broth to mixture. If you don’t have enough broth to cover all the veggies, add a bit of water. Bring to a boil. Add raw chicken to soup and bring to a boil. Lower heat to a simmer, cover, and cook for 20 minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste. (And then, as I continue to eat off it throughout the week, if I have any other leftovers such as brown rice, I toss that in with it as well. Delicious!!)

 

Leave a Reply

