Poppycock and Sunshine

The adventures of a crazy girl trying to live a quiet, slower Provincial lifestyle in an hectic, fast paced, American society.

Birthday girl! April 27, 2008

So Friday was my birthday. I have reached the ripe old age of 31. Yay. I have to admit, I am thoroughly enjoying my 30s. I have had women tell me “just wait to you hit your 30s”….. I was doubtful. They were right. My 20s were shit. I’m in such a better place now. Everything is better. I feel better. I have better health. I’m less stressed out, perhaps because I am wiser, who knows. Daniel took me for a nice day in Seattle and a lovely dinner at Maximilien, a fabulous French restaurant in the market. Man, do I love french food. It’s in my blood, I suppose, being french canadian by heritage and all.  So happy birthday to me…..I’m a year wiser.(That’s us on the ferry to Seattle.) I love dating a man confident enough to wear pink. He’s quite the stylish guy actually. (My gay friends say he’s the gayest straight man they know.) Lucky me… I have my very own fashion consultant. Which CAN, mind you, be slightly annoying at times. He’s very blunt when it comes to giving his opinion. Sometimes I take his advice…. and sometimes I ignore it. 😉 I have my own sense of style that I have to be true to, after all. I have to say it’s nice to have a man who doesn’t mind going shoe shopping with me. 

 

Enough about the terribly sexy man I live with. Let’s talk chickens, shall we? Now this is the first time I have ever raised chickens. I have no clue what the hell I’m doing really. Daniel HAS raised chickens growing up, so thank god for that. I would like to take this moment to comment on how QUICKLY they grow. Holy moses, batman!!! I go in to check on them every day and wonder in amazement on how they have grown since the prior day! They are little chicken weeds!!! Let me now introduce them to you. This is Eva Gardner, affectionately named after one of Colette’s former chickens I had the privilege of knowing when she was alive. She’s the red-head of the family, the sassy pants of the bunch, a Rhode Island Red. She’s loud and bossy and stubborn as all get out. Then we have Francoise Hardy, AKA Franfran. She’s the middle child of the clan. Not really pushy or bossy. She just goes with the flow. She’s a Gold Laced Wyandotte and will be lovely when she gets older. And then we have Greta Garbo, my baby. She’s the runt of the bunch, a Silver Laced Wyandotte. She is the one that has bonded with me the most. She loves to perch on my hand and talk to me. She’s the curious one, extremely observant, the one most likely to get out of the cage. The smartest of the 3. I feel bad having a favorite, I feel like a bad mommy. But she’s the baby, and alas, my total favorite. Oh dear. Now these pictures were taken when I first got them, when they were small and cute and chirpy. Now they are bigger and louder and smellier and poopier. (Just like real children.) They are just about to go through chicken puberty, their awkward period. It’s hilarious to watch them morph into chicken teenagers. It makes me realize that I have to build the coop and run sooner than I had previously expected. Hmmmmmm.This is a common sight here at my humble little home. Me “chatting” with Greta. She’ll just sit there and fluff up, perched contentedly, listening intently. Yes, I hate to break it to all you, but chickens have quite the little personalities. If they are hand raised, that is, and socialized. Daniel laughs at me, because I keep the radio on in the shop for them, tuned in to KING FM. That’s right, they are going to be well socialized, classical loving, sassy pants’d chickens. Their favorite CD, I’ve so far gathered, is the soundtrack to Amelie. They get very very quiet and fall asleep to it. I know, laugh at me all you want. I’m a dork. Colette understands what I’m talking about, don’t you, Colette?? So there, now you’ve met the girls.

Another reason for me to rejoice…. my garden is starting to show signs of life. The snow didn’t kill my little seeds! YAY! Now I just have to get Danny Boy to finish dumping dirt into the other bed so that I can finish the planting. So far I have onions, asparagus, spinach, lettuce, cauliflower, and cabbage planted. Next I have to plant the Scarlet Runner green beans, squash, cucumbers, and zuccini, and anything else I may come up with last minute. There’s a few things I have to get seeds for that are important in french cooking, such as leeks.  But there you have it, the planted bed. All labeled and everything. I was so very proud of myself, I didn’t have the money at the time to purchase lumber to build the beds, so I posted an add on Craigslist requesting any used lumber that someone might have, explaining what I was going to use it for. I received an email from a lady the next day saying they had to take out the raised beds and would I like the boards. Hell yes! I love recycling stuff. It makes me feel so environmentally conscious. 🙂 With the 4 boards they gave me, I was able to have Daniel saw them down and build 2 beds with them. FOR FREE. Anytime, you are looking for anything, post on Craigslist. I do it all the time! I have found a guy through it that I’m going to get recycled lumber for the upcoming chicken coop as well. It’s not free, but it’s a hell of a lot cheaper than a hardware store. And there would be another adventure for Daniel and me. Another thing we are going to do by the seat of our pants. Build a coop. I have plans that I got on Ebay though, and they seem fairly simple. We shall have to see.  I also have raspberry plants along the garden fence there. I plan on laying down plastic in between the beds and throwing some gravel or wood chips for paths. I have been dreaming about this garden ever since I’ve lived here, and finally it is coming to fruition! I finally have to energy to actually put my dreams into action. There are few things more fulfilling than being able to harvest your own fresh vegetables and fruit. There will be a good deal of canning and freezing taking place this summer, that is for sure. I must take my leave now, for I have my tomato starts that I simply MUST replant before the dog knocks them over one more time. I love sundays. It’s my day to whatever I choose. *contented sigh*

 

One Response to “Birthday girl!”

  1. Brandy Says:

    Hey again, Faithy! Just letting you know that I went ahead and got a blog on here too: http://anneelliot.wordpress.com/ You might set a trend!

    The girls are look so great, I can’t wait to see them in person again, woo hoo! And, oh my God, the beds look awesome! Totally Garden Girl! I’m so eager to start on my own–and I still need to learn about that bread from you, maybe I’ll have to bug you about my coming over and maybe making some with you here soon.

    Lovelove!


Leave a Reply

